Selection Process - America's Farmers

awarding deserving School Districts

The Monsanto Fund gift for the Grow Rural Education program is especially generous.

As such, schools must spend the time communicating where the grant will go to help fund projects that enhance STEM curriculum. Here’s what’s to be expected.


Eligible farmers fill out a form to nominate a public school district in their community during the application period at:


After a school district receives its first nomination, the Monsanto Fund notifies the district and encourages them to design a project for the grant that enhances STEM education in their district.


School districts are responsible for submitting a grant application describing their project.


Once all of the school district applications are submitted, a panel of math and science teachers from ineligible counties reviews each application and selects finalists.


Finally, an advisory council, composed of farmer-leaders with an interest in agriculture and education, reviews each of the finalist applications and selects the winning school districts. Grant applications are judged based on the merit of the application, need and community support.

When someone needs help, farmers answer the call. Every year, we endeavor to make it simple for farmers to lift up their communities through the America’s Farmers programs. 

I want to give back to my community with:

  • A donation to a local non-profit

    A nation of farmers.

    Counties that deserve a gift. $3 million furnished by the Monsanto Fund. Learn what farmers and Grow Communities is accomplishing.

    Enrollment begins August 1!
  • A grant to grow innovation in schools

    Grow Rural Education

    What happens when farmers give school districts the opportunity to enhance kids’ love for science, technology, engineering and math? See these inspirational success stories

    Winners Announced in August!
  • A scholarship for a future ag student

    Meet our scholarship recipients, from state to state.

    Read on to join us in celebrating these scholars.

    Meet our winners